By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Whether to punish murderers with the capital punishment or not has always been a controversial issue with which judicial systems all over the world have to deal. Personally, I believe that imprisonment could be a more effective solution to reduce crime and promote a more fair and peaceful society.

Although we live in a civilized society which spreads values such as peace, democracy and respect for life, many are still those who support the death penalty as a way to deter crime and promote justice. There are several reasons why this is the case. Many argue, indeed, that the capital punishment conveys the message that by no means can crime be tolerated. Moreover, it is regarded as an effective means to discourage murderers from killing, since it would be excessively counterproductive.

Despite all the possible positive outcomes the death penalty may have, it is fundamental to consider the deep implications of such a means of punishment. By killing murderers, society reproduces the same action for which murderers are convicted and punished. Judicial systems should exist, instead, in order to help people understand that homicide is the most violent act towards someone and that it should never be committed, not to commit it themselves.

Therefore, I am of the opinion that imprisonment could have more beneficial consequences than death penalty, both for people who commit murder and for the society as a whole. Not only do prisons mean a fair punishment, but they can also mean rehabilitation. This is a key point, since their aim should be mostly to rehabilitate violent people and give them the opportunity to learn values such as sharing and respect.

In summary, I do not believe capital punishment to be an effective measure to eradicate violent attitudes, since it promotes the same violence it tries to eliminate.