In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents. But in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. (Rewrite)

Marriage is a commitment for two people between a man and a woman to make a relationship in religious norms and legal norms. The purpose of marriage is the uniting of two persons to avoid misunderstandings and clarify the rights and obligations. To choose a marriage partner can be done by way of a marriage arranged by their parents or choose their own partner. There are several reasons for this condition and I will explain in this essay.

In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents. Every parent will always be thinking about the future of their children. So, they are looking for someone whom they think is perfect to marry with his children. which is perfect is about wealth, education or family status. And this can also occur due to customs or habit in that place. For instance, ethnic bugis in Indonesia, teens will marry only with the choice of their parents. This case is a real example in the world.

On the other hand, people choose their own spouses. Every people in the world would have someone whom they love in their life. They hope that their loved ones who may be their life partner. This relationship is usually based on the love, compatibility and comfort. And usually they will be in a dating relationship which is called courtship before marriage. Take one example in Indonesia, many artist of the capital who are married with the partner of their own choice. One of them is Anang Hermansyah that married with Asyanty. And there are many others married with the own choice.

But the both do not always go well. Several people who get married with parental choice does not always feel good, because if you are in this position and you do not love your partner or you feel uncomfortable with him/her. So, there was a divorce. While peolpe who marry with their own choice are not always happy too. For example, you have partner that you love and you have plans to marry him/her, but your parents do not agree with your choice. Then, there was a failed marriage.

In summary, people get their life partner with two options, there are choices of parents and their own choices. Both have advantages and disadvantages of each. So, all of it back to the individual self.