In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a
year between finishing high school and starting university studies.
Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.
Young people usually have many days off after having finished high
school and started university studies. In several countries, there is
tradition for using that time to do travelling or working as part time
worker. However, there are a number of advantages and disadvantages
from encouraging young people to do that kind of activity. On this
essay, I write the reason of its advantages and disadvantages.
Travelling that can be used for refreshing the mind is ideal for
students whose term of high school study has just finished in order to
diminish their level of stress derived when studying at school. In
addition, young people will be able to discover other knowledge from
journey they do, for example, if the destinations of journey are
museum, zoo and heritage places, young people can gain many
information provided and append their knowledge while having fun too.
On the other hand, young people choosing to work will also acquire new
experiences and obtain money from payment they got throughout working.
The experiences are gained, however, can strengthen their skills which
can be used on their future jobs.
Besides positive effects mentioned above, there are also several
numbers of negative effects can be perceived by young people deciding
to do travelling or working, for example, young people preferring to
work will not have enough time for their family after finishing study
where the condition can perfectly be used for producing quality
relationship between them.
To sum up, deciding to do travel or work in the period among finishing
high school and starting university studies is ideal as young people
commit it reasonable, such as to enhance new knowledge and skills
depending on their future purposes. Still, they have to manage time
and present times for families.