In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss both advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nobody can deny the importance of the period before the start of the university life. Whether this should be spent in working or travelling to new places is debatable. Personally I believe that it has major cons and pros which I will discuss them.

In the first place, encouraging the youth to start small business and travelling has a fundamental role in constructing their personality. It is well known that adults could learn self independence when they start to work on their own. Furthermore, travelling to new places broadens the relationships consequently enhances the social communications in the college time. For example, when I was young, I travelled to a nearby village where I founded a small bookshop that has helped me to know a lot of people there and also improved my social skills.

In addition to this, discovering new places before university time makes benefits of learning new experiences. It is claimed that travelling always teaches people great disciplines in the life context. In fact, in order to build the ability to deal with life difficulties, anyone should change the views and the environment every now and then.

Nevertheless, some immature teenagers could not benefit from this period in a good way. Actually bad habits such as smoking, drinking alcohol, addicting drugs, gambling could be distributed easily. For instance, a new study published in USA implemented that teenagers may increase their academic success if they plan to their life individually not in groups.

In conclusion, work and travel after finishing high school studies has many advantages and disadvantages. Although teaching self independence and having new experiences are considered the major benefits, making the bad habits commoner is a significant drawback. In my point of view, I think the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.