Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

We live in a multilingual world and knowing a foreign language is always beneficial. For this, school is the best institution to learn a foreign language. Education system of a school is divided into primary and secondary levels. I believe, early the education of a language begins the better it for the students.

There are many benefits if language teaching begins at primary school. Firstly, Students get longer duration to learn language skills. Secondly, a range of activities can be done to make learning fun and enjoyable. Thirdly, it is important to develop thinking in a language which one wants to learn. As learner does not waste time in translating native language into foreign language. Therefore, thinking in a foreign language builds fluency in that language. Primary education is better level to develop thinking skills because that's when thinking pattern starts developing. Forthly, Burden to learn at secondary level is minimized as a certain amount of curriculum has been covered in primary education.

However, I want to acknowledge that we should not over burden students with studies at primary level. Doing so, can have many negative impacts on the learner. They might lose interest if they get stressed or it brings boredom. Chances are they may not be able to redevelop that interest again.

Also, foreign language that they started learning at primary level might not be in demand in the job market by the time they are through with their secondary or senior secondary education. Still, knowing a foreign language might bring its usage in future.

To sum up, I believe benefits of learning a foreign language at primary school are more than its drawbacks. Authorities just need to be cautious while designing curriculum of foreign languages and teachers should keep a check on the interest and stress level of students.