Some people believe individuals are more important in taking care of environment, others thinks government should be major responsible to it. Discuss and give your opinion.

The topic of whether individuals or government should hold the major responsibility to protect the environment is of concern for many people. As for me, only if both citizens and government involve in environmental protection, will the world become better.

Some people believe that government plays a vital role in environmental improvement. Firstly, the government has a great influence on environmental conservation. By stating various laws and policies regarding environmental issues, the government is able to control and supervise the factories and industries, which effectively regulate the pollutions ejection and sewage discharge. Secondly, the government is responsible to emphasize the importance of environmental preservation. As some uneducated people are unconscious of the consequence of pollution, the government should instill them with environmental awareness, for example, promoting ecological activities or encouraging garbage recycle, which boosts the environmental interests of people.

However, some people insist that government cannot achieve conservation without the help from individuals. To start with, if every citizen makes a small effort, the world can be improved significantly. For example, suppose everyone chooses public transport to commute rather than driving their own private cars, the released poisonous gas can be minimized, thereby maintaining the air quality. Besides that, the environment is highly related to individuals’ daily lives, so they are obligated to take care of environment. As some personal behaviors such as the consistent use of plastic bag and the waste of paper contribute to the worsening of water quality and climate change, people are responsible to make up the mistakes and recover all the damages.

To sum up, I would suggest the government to corporate with individuals to help the improvement of the environment, which will benefit people’s lives.