Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that high school students must take part in public services without pay such as doing charity work, heping to develop the neighbourhood or helping younger students in sports. There is no doubt in my mind that community service is a necessary part of school programmes which students should pay more attention.

It cannot be denied that unpaid public service is considered as a creative way in which high school students apply what they have learned about ethics in school. For example, when a student try to sell handmade products in order to help blind people, they learn how to share and sympathize. Moreover, if community service without pay becomes a compulsory subject, it will improve the way people usually think about the importance of ethics. As a matter of fact, doing this kind of service may help students develop their personality in a positive way.

In addition, community service is a affective method that can help high school students to practice in real world. The fact of the matter is that this type of job may create more opportunities for pupils to gain more experience. For instance, when a group of students want to improve their local area, they have to offer and express their opinions, then make plans and implement. This will support them to develop their vital skills like teamwork, time management and problem solving.

In conclusion, community service without pay shoudbe required in high school. To my way of thinking, doing this kind of service can brings many benefits which is necessary for high school pupils in the future. The government should consider quickly and seek efficient methods to develop and improve this type of subject in high school programmes.