Some people think secondary students should study international news as one of their subjects, other people say this is a waste of valuable school time

Nowadays, the spread of information is developing widely in this world, news for example. Not only international news but also many forms of news is presented in various forms of media. This brings plenty of drawbacks and some benefits for all people. Some people think that getting information from international news is more advantageous for secondary students, so that they suggest schools should give the students a subject about international news.

There are advantages of international news for secondary students. Firstly, by viewing international news the students could learn about cultures and knowledge which make them smarter and wide-minded. In addition to mentioned above, international news can also provide them with the information they probably need.

Even though international news has many advantages, there are some advantages to consider. For a start, international news can be dangerous as it presents global conflicts, international wars and much violence which can affect secondary students’ thinking and behaviors. This may also changes the understanding of the students about the world. A good example was the case last year between Indonesia and Australia, Indonesian people thought Australia was no longer good place to visit and study and this is likely to make Indonesians insecure. Furthermore, it can consume their time to do their homework or more important activities.

I personally believe that even though international news as one of secondary students’ subjects has some advantages, the problems which can be caused by studying it far outweigh these advantages. This is because of today, it has happened many international conflicts and wars which influence the students not only their behaviors, the way they think and it also consumes their time so much.