Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Raising the retirement age both has its pros and cons for the economy. Some people argue that, the retirement age should be lessened, while others hold the opposite side supporting the phenomenon so-called “long life work”.

To begin with, the type of work should be taken into account while adopting relevant measures in terms of raising the retirement age. For example, a person who works in physical working sphere is not able to work properly as he grows older, which necessitates his early retirement. Secondly, early retirement would allow young educated people to be hired more easily to the vacant positions. As we know, providing workplaces for young graduates are a common problem for most countries.

Nevertheless, as t mentioned above raising the retirement age also has its disadvantages, both for the society and the government. For instance, early retirement does not allow scientists to obtain their career goals. Secondly, depending in the type of work non-developed or developing countries sometimes cannot afford to provide pensions for the adult in the span of time 20-30 years after early retirement, which is the crucial factor for the raising the retirement age. Moreover, scientists, teachers, as well as professors are much more highly in demand after their early retirement. For example, young scientists cannot cope with the scientific challenges without their experienced counterparts.

In conclusion, I am highly convinced that, raising the retirement age is a beneficial policy for the people working in physical fields, whereas, it would make the education system suffer without old scientists. Therefore, states should implement their retirement policy with regard to the type of work.