Some say that young people are not suitable for decision making positions in governments; others however disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that placing young people in government positions that involve decision making is not advisable, while others think that they are capable of taking such responsibility. This essay will examine both points of view.

With regards to youth in key government positions, some people think that young people should be given the opportunity. People in their youthful age are full of fresh ideas on ways to improve and develop their nation. They are not held back by the traditions and experience that weigh the older ones down and so make decisions quickly. As a result, when young people take up decision making positions in government, they think out of the box and this enables them make policies to move their nation forward.

Nevertheless, youths might not be able to bear any negative consequence of the decisions they make and so should not be burdened with such government positions. People who should take up such positions are those able to draw from their wealth of experience to critically examine the outcome of any decisions made. Such, is not readily available to young people and so they will not able to present a rounded view which is a requirement for policy making. I am of the opinion that young people should be allowed to grow and gain useful experience before being asked to take up top government positions.

In summary, although, youths will bring new ideas to a government decision making process, such positions should be given to older persons who are experienced and are able to view issues critcally from all angles.