The success of goods sales has never been the power of advertising only, it is also expected to include meeting demands of consumers. Therefor, powerful advertising alone cannot explained the high sales of consumer goods.

In order to make profit, it should reach the largest proportions of consumer, as well as knowing their needs deeply. The former is always regarded as the responsibility of advertising. In fact, there is no denying the fact that effective advertising can attract more consumers in a short period of time. According to Chinese Marketing Organization, the goods which has been advertised, the sale of which, witnessed a huge increase in the first two months, rising to five folds. From various companies marketing stately, we can easily find a plenty evidence to support this view that advertising is indeed a driving force that stimulated the sales of goods.

However, it is only an incomplete part of the picture. The continuous and reckless use of advertising which used for booming sales is proving to be counterproductive. Alice Lee, the president of Harvard Business College, has stated in World Marketing Conference in 2012, " the product which failed to meet the needs of consumers will lose its control in market in the long run. Finally, it will fade away or even disappeared after it reached its peak". From her experiment on the advertising strategy, she concluded that in the first quarter, advertising accounts more for the rising of sales, while in the next quarter, meeting demands of consumers plays a more important role. The reason is obvious, advertising cannot build a long-term trusted relationship between producers and consumers. This relationship, which is the key factor contributed to high sales, is expected to be achieved by meeting society's needs.

Due to the above mentioned reasons, I admit that high sales do reveal the power of advertising, they can soar the sales in the beginning, while goods without advertising cannot achieve at a comparable level in a short period of time. But as the questions of advertising versus needs of society, they are not mutually exclusive. High sales of goods is not only reflect the power of advertising, but also revealed the needs of society. Without knowing the needs, advertising cannot guarantee the high sales in the long run. Without adverting, the high demanded goods will never be attractive and productive.