The use of cctv cameras in street, station, shops and other public places has increased rapidly in recent years. Although we are told that these cameras help in the fight against crime, some people are opposed to their use. They believe that everyone has a right to privacy. What are your views?

Advancement in technology has been a boon in this modern era and most of the people are opting to run their business smoothly and securely day by day. As we know CCTV is also one of the inventions of technological innovation which has played a pivotal role in every sectors of everyday life. However, some are against of its use. Both facets of it will be discussed in this essay below.

At first, It is an undeniable fact that crime rate has been cut off dramatically due to its usage over the few years in the society because of which entrepreneurs are willing to invest huge amount in business hoping that their investment will be safer and crimes like theft, robbery and looting will be discouraged. For instance, if CCTV cameras are installed in a supermarket, it will assist to identify the culprits aftermath of robbery. In the same way it will daunt to a wrong doer in public places such as parks, stations, streets, etc. Perhaps, it might create fear in a potential culprit’s mind that there is always someone watching him/her before doing something illegal and he/she will be compelled to think before act viciously.

Additionally, CCTV allows us to obtain concrete information spending less time, resources and budget. It helps us to provide security remotely in sensitive places like customs or borders of a particular nation which might keep a potential attack from enemy away.

On the other hand, some believe that connecting CCTV cameras will breach privacy and confidentiality of an individual. It might expose the private act that is not supposed to be unveiled among the public. For instance, recent leakage of private photos of Prince Charles and Princess Kate of England in their family holidays in overseas.

In conclusion, I believe that the positive aspects outweigh the negative parts of it and the majority of people get benefitted by installing CCTV cameras in our surroundings.