When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

No doubt recently technological advances and their global applications have put conventional skills and lifestyles in jeopardy in many nations. Some people are of the opinion that the effort of preserving traditional values will remain marginal and there is no need to avoid their disappearance. However, I partly disagree with this notion for several reasons.

Firstly, traditional skills and ways of life can provide innovative ideas to meet the escalating demands of consumers. As the living standards improve, people tend to prioritize the individuality and the goods coming out of mass production, therefore, fall short to their expectations. While modern technologies cannot ensure the uniqueness of products, traditional production methods do. For example, Vietnam handicrafts sell well in Europe which is considered a highly demanding market because they are produced traditionally and are different to each other.

Secondly, conventional skills and lifestyles could be used effectively in education. More specifically, being a part of a country’s history and culture, they can help educate young people to cherish their own motherland. Current teaching methods are likely to be theoretical and thus the participation in porcelain vases making, for instance, offers students a chance to understand and gain insights into the life of the elder generations. This activity, without a doubt, is more fun and probably inspires the youth to endeavour to conserve traditional values.

Of course, not every tradition deserves protection. In the previous time, people believed that it was wrong for a white woman to marry a black man. Furthermore, women were objectified and treated as slaves in some Asian countries. Obviously, these are false beliefs which violate human rights and need stamping out.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that only traditional skills and ways of life which benefit humans are worth saving from dying out. Indeed, they will continue to thrive if the government implements adequate measures.