Overpopulation brings many severe problems to the world. These problems have big impacts on both developed and developing countries. The problems include dwindling of scarce resources and global warming. However, a number of measures can be implemented to mitigate the detrimental effects.

On the one hand, the increase of the population has accelerate the consumption of limited resources. The earth only has contains certain amount of natural resources such as air, water and land. Many researchers argue that those resources can only support no more than 10 billions people to live and the world population already reached three fourth of this limit. Also, some resources are non-renewable and have not yet find any substitutes such as oil and coal. Many countries are expected to experience economic slowdown when their converse of oil are used up. Therefore, nations should take the current population into account and introduce policies to use scarce resources more effectively.

On the other hand, global warming is also a direct result of the population booming. For example, people in developed countries, especially in urban cities, consume a lot of meat, own more than one car and emit lots of Carbon dioxide. More meat, more cars and more Carbon dioxide will unquestionably lead to higher global warming.

Some measures can be adopted to reduce the speed of population rising. First, people in poor countries should be educated that the more people they have, the worse quality of life they will get. Second, rich countries should encourage the public to take birth control pills.

In conclusion, overpopulation has risen some pressing problems including consumption of scarce resources and global warming. However, with strong political will and effective measures in place, nations will overcome the overpopulation problems.