In these days, to live independently is much more desired among high school students. There is a dispute that young people nowadays are capitalized on taking a gap year between the high schools and the universities, however, some opine that they might gain drawbacks that far outweigh the benefits. From my point of view, taking a break in school and college studies has both advantages and disadvantages. In the following paragraphs, these point of views will be discussed in detail before the conclusion is reached.

To begin with, fruitful experience will be learnt by these students while they spend the time by traveling around the countries or the world. They will acknowledge with diversity of cultures, languages, traditions, and the like that differ from their own countries. Consequently, they are able to take advantage of this approach to use in their actual lives. For example, some of American students desire to visit South East Asia continent. By doing this, they will gain a myriad of experience including mysterious believes and appetites that totally different from their own.

On the other hand, taking gap years before starting university must put them in the situation of lacking of basic knowledge and skills. Some students not only take one year break, but some also take more than three years. This will lead these students to face with difficulty during the first year in colleges. Studying Physics and Maths, in particular, being able to calculate is essential and vital. Lacking of this capability, they will not be able to pass the exams.

To balance, regarding taking a break after graduated from high school, I suppose that there is a plethora of benefits including gain skills and experience. However, still, the disadvantages should be concerned in order to avoid the struggled life throughout higher education’s life.