It is argued that, in recent years, many people think that governments should make citizens hold accountable for environmental protection. In my opinion, this approach would be very shortsighted view following

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that the main cause of environmental pollution is the rapid development of the industry which is disposed a huge amount of gas emissions into the atmosphere. As a result, these problems are too intricate and serious for individuals in the country to be tackled. Therefore, governments should play a vital role in order to minimize it. Besides, if governments can control these problems greatly, the environmental issues will be resolved quickly.

On the other hand, some may argue that the contribution of residents is also a necessary factor, this argument may be true to some extent. Admittedly, each of people should be a significant role to protect the environment by some simple actions such as plant more trees, do not use anything that makes from plastics. Furthermore, transportation is one of the causes of releasing carbon dioxide. Consequently, the contamination of the ozone layer will become more serious. In that case, individuals need to change their own travel habits. To illustrate, in Japan, most of citizens are all prefer to use environmentally friendly transports and this makes the environment improved significantly. This example also indicates that people's attitudes towards protecting the environment cannot be underestimated.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that making people be responsible for their own local environment is very crucial. However, I truly believe that this solution needs the combination of both goverments and the people