30.03.2017: A ban on all forms of advertising is beneficial to society because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

With the development of advanced technology, advertisements have become widespread and appear everywhere. Although many people argued that a prohibition of advertising in all forms brings about great value for societies and countries, I completely disagree with this point of view.

On the one hand, strict punishments for ads can bring certainly help humans. The first reason relates to the reduction of consumers' expenditure on shopping. This is because they do not pay a great measure of money for products advertised which is not necessary and useful. Moreover, the government can eliminate unethical business advertisements such as cigarettes and alcoholic drinks which lead to the misperception about the function of these items, especially children who are unaware of the purpose of advertising is to increase sales. Individuals may select their items to fulfill their requirements without being adversely affected by the messages in which the truths related to these goods can have been exaggerated or even distorted.

On the other hand, I believe that we should not ban all forms of advertisement for various reasons. Firstly, advertising boosts the economy of a country by generating revenue, increasing sales, and contributing taxes to the government. As a result, the economy improves swiftly and can compete strongly with both domestic and foreign economies. In addition, it can deal with the problems of unemployment by providing jobs relating to the array of ideas, or designs. Therefore, they can have a higher standard of living when they can meet all their needs, and have the ability to purchase goods that contribute to economic development.

In conclusion, while punishments can help to prevent unethical advertisements in our lives, I still believe that it is a vital catalyst for growth in the modern world. Advertisements should be regulated but not eliminated entirely.