4.6.2022: Environmental damage is a problem in most countries. What factors damage the environment and who should take responsibility?

The degradation of the environment has become a serious worldwide problem that needs urgent action to be addressed. I believe that two factors attributing to this issue are the clearing of forests and the poisonous water. Therefore, both authorities and individuals should take responsibility to solve this issue.

There are two main factors behind this phenomenon. First of all, it relates to deforestation due to overpopulation, when people need more land to live in and more food to survive. Humans destroy the natural habitat and clear ground for accommodation and intensive farming, which requires chemical pesticides on plants, and antibiotics for livestock. As a result, land has become spent and infertile leading to a massive loss of vegetative cover and trees and the frequent occurrence of natural disasters, which creates an imbalance in the whole ecosystem. Furthermore, contaminated water which has not undergone proper treatment methods and is directly released into the lake, or ocean contributes to water pollution and is harmful to marine creatures.

Both authorities and individuals are accountable for the issue of environmental damage. Government should enact new international laws in which all citizens must obey all regulations in protecting the environment. Moreover, individuals are responsible for not doing harm to the environment in his or her daily performance. Therefore, the total amount of this substance disposed to the environment would significantly

plummet. For instance, they reduce the usage of personal vehicles as much as possible, or using organic pesticides and fertilizers are very helpful for environmental protection.

In conclusion, environmental damage is the disadvantageous impact of polluted water and deforestation; therefore, there is a call for responsibility of both governments and individuals in tackling this problem.