Advantages and disadvantages of keeping zoos

There has been always a heated debate over the usefulness of keeping zoos. Some people are of the opinion that zoological places serve a variety of purposes including education and entertainment, while others assert that they are worthless and better to be closed due to the cruelty and disturbances they may cause. I, for one, believe that the benefits of maintaining zoos far outweigh the disadvantages.

First of all, zoos provide a sanctuary for animal species, especially those which are seriously on the verge of extinction. A wide group of animals is under the threats which have been posed by human beings. Poaching and habitat fragmentation are two examples of people’s activities which have triggered massive perturbations in ecosystem. This, consequently, has caused severe dangers, leading to the disappearance of some species like rare breeds. To protect endangered animals, zoos are established as places where trained experts are hired to provide safe environment, proper food plans, and constant surveillance.

Secondly, zoological places are beneficial for not only widening people’s knowledge but also providing entertainment. To begin with, as zoos are designed to encompass diverse animals, people of all age groups can gain valuable information by visiting those places. That is, zoo guides offer insight into the animal world with engaging stories, broad facts, and animals’ observations. Moreover, children as well as adults are able to experience an interaction with tame animals by touching and feeding them under the supervision of the keepers. In addition to knowledge, zoos offer amusements too. Local people and tourists who are interested in wild life choose these places to not only become acquainted with a variety of living beings but also benefit from the recreational facilities they offer. This includes public shows in which trained animals display funny performances.

On the other hand, a group of opponents claim that keeping animals in cages question humanity. In other words, they believe that captivating animal species is cruel, for all creatures have the right to live freely. In fact, encaging animals causes them to suffer from depression and distress due to the fact that they pace small cages back and forward all the day. Furthermore, those who advocate the abolishment of zoos opine that if animals are encased and away from their natural habitats, food chains will be disrupted. The conservation of food webs is directly dependent on the number of predators and preys in nature. In fact, if one species ceases to exist in the food chain, other species will be affected. Thus, zoos as places in which some specific categories of animals are kept can trigger irreversible changes in ecological system which may not be compensable.

In brief, although there are some negative points in maintaining zoos, I personally find the advantages more worthwhile. Protecting endangered species and providing pastime and considerable knowledge are some of the chief purposes which zoos usually aim at.