the advantages brought by the spread of english as a glabla laguage will outweight the disadvantages. to what extend do you agree or disagree with this view

Nowadays, English is very popular language among all countries that’s why it is known as “global language”. It has several advantages such as one common language for all, increase in international trading, easy to learn, save money for translation etc. while some disadvantages are everyone do not have capacity to learn new language specially for old age people, value of other language may be decreased etc. I will give my view in conclusion.

On one hand, due to globalization, almost all people try to adopt western culture and English language is one of them thus, people are getting more interest in English language and the popularity is increasing. The positive side of this trend is that there is one language all over the world so, people can communicate with anyone. Furthermore, the trading on international basis would be increased. In the past, government had been paid more money on translation and now this money would be used in other development. Another advantage is related to tourism, for instance, if American people come to visit India and no one understand English then, they might be feel uncomfortable and hard to stay in India. From this, we can increase income for tourism industry.

On the other hand, it is obvious that one common language is necessary but there are some drawbacks of this global language. One such drawback is that it is directly affect the other language and due to this some languages had been already extinct. For instance, Sanskrit language is mother of all languages in India but now on one understand Sanskrit. In contrast, children, youngsters know English because it is popular, nowadays while older people do not know and in old age it is hard for them to learn new language.

To conclude that, advantages of global language is outweigh of drawback. Thus, I completely agree with this statement.