It goes without saying that advertisement these days is gaining in popularity in such a way that gives rise to an inquiry of its impacts. While the upside is considerable, the downside of this trend is rather outweighing.

On the one hand, the advertising industry’s ever ubiquity has constructive roles in the development of the economy and society. As a matter of fact, the supreme purposes of advertisements are brand awareness and, then, consuming stimulation. By doing that, companies and manufacturers who promote their products would increase sale revenues and maximise their profit margins. These do not merely benefit the advertisers but also contribute to the socio-economic welfare through the tax system. Besides, the flourishing of this creative field offers an increasing number of related employments. Following by content creators or advertising campaign operators, advertising is expected to generate even new kinds of job in the future.

However, the disadvantages resulting from the proliferation of advertisement are worth questioning. Indeed, there emerges a concern about advertisement censorship policies, whereby inapt, implication content is displayed haphazardly. Aiming at children, advertisements may have adverse influences on their lifestyle, or even dire consequences are likely to arise as children exposed to violent and sexual content. Further implications are the perpetuating of consumerist society. The attribute at issue of advertising appears to be inciting people to buy goods impulsively, and bombarding consumers regularly would prompt them to spend money on unnecessary items. In the long term, consumerism can lead to resource squandering and exhausting.

In conclusion, although the ever popularity of advertisement bears several socioeconomic merits, it seems to be more of negative development. Strict censorship legislation needs to be imposed on advertising content, and people should pay close attention to financial decisions after being touted.