There remains a debate about the role of zoos and concern about how they work. Some believe that zoos are brutal and should be banned, while others argue that zoos can have positive contributions for conserve animals. In this essay, I am to discuss both opinions before address my view.

On the one hand, it’s indisputable that numerous zoos are inhuman. These days, it is the profitability, not the conserving purpose, that a large proportion of zoo owners set their sights on. As a mean of making a profit from the public’s curiosity, animals are captivated in cages or limited spaces, treated brutally and live in desperate conditions. Moreover, most of the animals kept in zoos are rare creatures, since they are more attractive to the visitors, abusing those animals means driving them on the verge of extinction. Hence, those cruel zoos should undoubtedly be fallen out of use.

On the other hand, I believe that many other zoos are worthwhile as they make conservation goal priority over the financial purpose. Given that the natural habitats are being ever-increasingly destructed, leaving endangered animals living in the wild may not be the ideal approach. In addition, they are further threatened due to poaching. Kept in legal zoos, wild animals are specially looked after and even provided with preeminent conditions to breed and expand the population size. Galapagos tortoises are a case in point, from a few sparse tortoises to the number of thousands, which is unachievable in the natural ecosystem, thanks to an initiative of keeping them in zoos for several years.

In conclusion, it appears to me that a certain number of zoos, not all, is cruel and hence should be banned. Others, however, are useful in protecting and reserving wild animals from vanishing, which I believe need to keep progressing in such the way.