Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us want to be and to look the same.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that advertising has a major influence on the growing similarity of people’s lifestyle in the modern world. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion for a number of reasons.

It is undeniable that advertising may arguably have some impacts on people’s preferences. Firstly, advertisements from well-known brands are likely to encourage consumers to buy their products because of their long-established reputation. This may lead to many people purchasing the same products, which makes them have identical favour over certain goods and items. For example, people these days are used to drinking Pepsi or Coca Cola in most of their parties. In addition, marketers try to create new habits for customers who nonstop adopt new lifestyles' concepts. For example, lots of people love to wear clothes of Gucci or tend to buy up-to-date products such as iphone 7 or because they hold a view that this makes them look fashionable and rich.

It is also clear that adverts often take advantage of the images of celebrities to make the audience conduct themselves in the same pattern. Because people usually take some superstars as their role models, letting them see ads involving these famous people would give rise to the desire to buy the same products or to react in the same ways. In other words, if they don’t emulate famous people’s lifestyle, they might feel that they are just old-fashioned ones. For example, when Ho Ngoc Ha – a Vietnamese famous singer – becomes a representative for a cosmetic product, thousands of women immediately think of buying that product, not because of the quality of itself but the fact that they want to look like her.

In conclusion, I totally agree that advertising has been shaping consumers' behaviours with several identical patterns and preventing us from making us a diversified society.