Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people hold a view that mixed ability classes have some benefits which are highly appreciable, while others think that education system is more well effective. This essay will discuss both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand, mixed level classes can bring about certain benefits. The first reason is that it create conditions which motivate all pupils to make sustained progress in learning within a common curriculum framework. It is obvious that when children have chances to learn with better ones, they will have more motivation to study harder to keep up with upper-track students. Moreover, when low-ability students and high-ability ones are integrated into the same class, it encourages teachers to find a proper teaching method that suits students of different levels of intelligence. This helps teachers to enhance their teaching performance since they have to deliver the lesson in an effective way to maximizes student's understanding.

On the other hand, I believe that streaming students generates more benefits to teachers and students. As to teachers, it is more convenient to tailor lessons in adequation with the ability level of the students. Tracking education system meets the need for highly gifted students to be with their intellectual peers to receive lessons targeted at their ability and proceed at their own speed. Another reason is that tracking classes helps weaker students feel equal and less pressured. It is due to the fact that studying with outstanding students make them feel inferior to their peers and lose confidence in themselves as they have to absorb knowledge beyond their capability.

In conclusion, although heterogeneous classes are beneficial for students to some extent, I belive that streaming classes facilitate the more specific teaching and learning process.