Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the functions of a building count more than its exterior. I totally agree with this opinion.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that aesthetically designed buildings can bring about many commercial values. Firstly, buildings which are well-designed are likely to attract more attentions. For example, customers will definitely go for a glamorous restaurant to wine and dine their business partners rather than a dreary one. Likewise, people are still standing in line to see monuments such as Taj Mahal, Effiel tower, Pisa tower and Buckingham palace without paying thorough attention about the functional aspect of these buildings. In addition, the outward appearance of a building should be taken into consideration so that the building can blend into its surroundings. What will happen if you build a modern mansion among the old garden or a Chinese traditional pavilion above the modern building? Chances are you will get enormous complaints and resentments.

On the other hand, “Form follows function” becomes one of the most famous maxims (châm ngôn) in the contemporary architecture for a reason. Architectures have to design a building in a way that satisfies its practical uses. For instance, a movie goer goes to the cinema not to observe the magnificent façade of the cinema but to watch a movie, so the theater is supposed to have a well-designed sound system and a scientifically-arranged hall so that everyone in the audience can conveniently enjoy their favourite movies.

In brief, while both appearances and function play a pivotal role in architecture, when it come to the indispensable one, function comes first.