In the future, it seems more difficult to live on the Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planet to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Our planet has gradually become more difficult to reside in. Some people hold a view that money should be spent on space exploitation to find new dwellings for human. While I agree that this viewpoint is justifiable, I believe that humans should not increase the budget on exploring other planets.

Allocating expenditures in the discovery of extra-terrestrial planets is reasonable to some extent to relieve the pressure from burgeoning world population. As the birth rate in many countries is increasing at an alarming rate, there soon will leave little space for the world inhabitants. Subsequent consequences like depletion of natural resources, contaminated air quality or the spread of contagious diseases resulting from the surge in the population can be effectively tackled if alternatives of changing living places to other planets are discovered. Furthermore, when state officials invest more national finding in space studies, various jobs are created, which would reduce the unemployment rate.

However, it seems to me that financial investments on research for new planets to clonise is not and effective measures. The primary reason is that living conditions in distant planers like Mars are often extreme and unhabitable, which is a task of challenge for people to be able to adapt to such hospitable environment. In addtion, it is absurd to argue that our planet have no room for recovery. There are various beneficial fields in need of investment from national authorities, which can directly affect millions of ordinary lives. If government spent less money on space research, they would be able to ease distressing matters, such as elimination of famines, global warming and population control.

In conlusion, I am of the opinion that efforts should be concentrated on living more sustainably on Earth in spite of pouring more money on discovering another planet to settle down.