Many countries and cultures around the world are experiencing higher rate of childhood obesity. In your opinion, what can be done to help children maintain a healthy weight and lifestyle?

It is true that the rate of obesity in children in several countries and cultures across the globe has been increasing rapidly in recent years. Various measures could be taken to tackle this problem.

The first effective way to fight or prevent childhood obesity and weight problems is to include parents in the dietary program. Children should be encouraged to adopt healthy eating habits/develop a well-balanced diet. For instance, instead of consuming junk food or sugary products which are rich in saturated fat, they should put more vegetables in their daily meals. Those food are not only low in fat and rich in fiber but also give us adequate energy to work and study. Moreover, parents should help their kids understand the benefits of being physically active. Activities like Tv binge watching need to be replaced by physical activities and exercises. For example, children can take part in swimming to profuse sweating and burn calories, which helps to control weight.

Undoubtedly, schools and the government also play a part in avoiding weight gain in children. Specifically, children should be educated at school about the health-risk consequences associated with obesity. If they perceive that being overweight can harm the body system and even lead to some form of cancers and disability later in life, they will be more aware of their health status. Furthermore, the government should set strict regulations on unhealthy food advertisement aimed at/geared towards kids. It is obvious that heavy exposure to those advertisements would cause fake hunger signals and trigger the desire to buy non-nutritious food.

In conclusion, parents, schools and the government could adopt various measures to help children maintain an appropriate body weight and develop a healthy lifestyle.