Scientists believe that by studying behaviour of 3 years old children, we can predict if that child can become criminal in the future. To what extent is crime a product of human nature? Is it possible to stop children from growing to be a criminal?

Some scientists hold a belief that by observing behavior of 3 years old children , they can predict whether those children can turn into a criminal in the future or not. Personally, I believe that other extrinsic factors can exert a heavy influence on the mindset of children, and it is possible to make them adopt a sound code of behavior in their future adulthood.

It is understandable why the roots of crime may originate from human nature. It is mostly the case when these individuals used to be more aggressive and impulsive than their peers, and these seemingly innate characteristics would exacerbate when they become a fully-grown up. For example, resorting to violence to obtain what they want or stealing fruits from their peers at an early age can somehow foretell their tendency of criminality in the later years. However, in some cases, it’s due to external factors including upbringing and schooling, rather than genetic traits that lead children to the wrong path. Lots of convicts have some extent of tragedy in their childhoods, such as parental divorce and family breakdown, although they used to be a good child.

Several plausible measures should be prompted to deter children from potential crime involvement in their later life. The most effective solution is that parents should spend more quality time with their offspring and help them distinguish between benevolence and malevolence. Besides that, they can take part in parent-child interaction training program, which places parents and children in interactive situations. A therapist guides the parents, educating them on how best to respond to their child's behavior, whether positive or negative. The program in some countries has been shown to reduce hyperactivity, attention deficit, aggression, and anxious behavior in children.

In conclusion, although innate criminal tendencies is justifiable to some extent, proper education and guidance of parents could have a significant contribution to the reduction of crime in the years to come.