Some people think that the government have the duty to ensure its citizens have a healthy diet, while others argue it is the responsibility of each individual. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People often hold different views about who should bear the responsibility of guarantee citizens a balanced diet. While some people claim that it is the obligation of national leaders, I believe that individuals are responsible for the quality of products which they consume.

On the one hand, there are plausible explanations of why it is necessary that the government make their residents consume proper food. Firstly, a healthy diet depends primarily on foods available in the market, and for this reason it would be necessary for the government to set regulations on food supplies. Without governmental control, citizens would find it difficult to know which foods are safe for their meals. The second reason is that if the government don’t interfere in order to improve the health of the country, they would ultimately have to allocate a large amount of national budget to combat the health epidemic. For example, in America, the number of obese people is increasing at an alarming rate due to lack of food and nutrition guidance from the authority, which makes the public health center ends up paying for medical costs/healthcare expenses and solving health disorders.

On the other hand, it seems to me that it’s personal duty to lead healthy eating habits. If citizens become dependent upon government for health care and education then they ultimately become dependent on the government for everything in their lives. This would lead to a disastrous outcome in any nation because the governmental body cannot support all of its citizens. Moreover, it is difficult to define what qualifies a healthy lifestyle, because every individual has different physical condition. As a result, different proper dietary choices should be chosen on an individual basis, and the government’s role is to guide people to make their own choices by providing sufficient information about health.

In conclusion, although goverments should dictate in what people eat, I believe that it’s personal duty to adopt healthy lifestyle to protect their own.