In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

It is obviously true that the rapid rise of juvenile delinquency has become a common concern of many countries in the world. This essay presents several reasons for this trend as well as discusses some punishments that should be imposed to address the problem.

To begin with, the most important driving force behind this phenomenon would be the lack of parental care. There is a fact that orphans, adopted children, and teenagers who live in dysfunctional families are more likely to have disruptive behaviour towards others and easily commit serious offences. What's more, poverty seems to be a root cause of crime. As a rule, the abject poverty has a huge psychological influence on adolescents, then they turn to crime to obtain money, as they have not found anything that legally get them out of such situation.

There are a number of severe punishments that should be meted out to young criminals. Firstly, juvenile delinquents whose crime is not serious enough to be put in prison should be ordered to do community service. In this case, young offenders are required to work voluntarily for a certain period of time on local projects. A second penalty for those who are found guilty is that they should be forced to make full restitution to the victims for the damage done. Finally, the court would put youngsters who commit a crime on probation. Put them under suppervison of local police using electric monitoring, for example.

In conclusion, the lack of parental love and poverty are the two primary contributors to the increasing rate of juvenile crime in many part of the world. These aforementiond non-custodial sentences would serve as deterrents.