In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

A few subjects are as likely to provoke controversy as in many countries in the global, the youth have a proclivity to break the law more and more. There are a number of reasons for this trend and I personally think that the government and law-makers need to take steps immediately to promulgate plausible sanctions to reduce the number of young offenders.

There are at least two main reasons can be identified. Firstly, it is noticeable that there is an increase dysfunctional family in recent years. As a consequence, child neglect is becoming a popular social problem, children have the shortage of nurture and education from their parents, hence, they embark on a life of crime. Sometimes, the poor teenagers also have to resort to crime with the aim of making ends meet. For example, recently, the divorce rate in Viet Nam doubled and the juvenile crime rate increased directly proportional to it. Another distinct reason would be that with the explosion of technology at an astonishing pace, it seems to be that children become gradually addicted to the TV, computers, and smartphones. However, programs on these devices are not always reliable, concretely, there are numerous violent images on these ones that children and teenagers could imitate unconsciously, which make a contribution to breed young offenders.

Several penalties should act as a deterrent and would be one's useful measures to prevent rising juvenile crime rate. On the one hand, the youth who commit major crimes such as murder, rape, and drug trafficking should be suffering from strict punishments. For instance, in Japan, endangered young criminals must serve long prison sentences for their wrong behaviors. On the other hand, teenage breakers should be put on probation and compelled completing a certain number of hours in service to their community.

In conclusion, there are various reasons for rising juvenile crime rate and appropriate punishments need to be taken to tackle this issue.