Topic: For a century, there has been taught in reading, writing and maths. With the given of computer technology, some people think that there would be fourth skill which should be taught as beneficial for children as school: computer skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about what skills children should be taught at school. Some argue that in a technology-based society, besides educating usual skills such as reading, writing and maths, schools also should preapare computer skills for children. I completely agree with this opinion.

There are various advantages for training youngsters how to use computer in the world which becomes reliant on computers. Firstly, there is no doubt that learning computer skills could reinforce children’s other development skills such as intelligence, problem-solving skills, creative thinking and so on, inasmuch as this stimulates their curiousness. Secondly, computer might help kids deal with their education not only at home but also in school. Countless websites on the Internet could assist them to solve complicated exercises and studying new knowledge. Learning Games for Kids, for example, is an attractive website about games which get kids started on a learning adventure enjoyably.

Nowadays, computers become increasingly entrenched into our world. Ergo, if children are exposed to computers early, they would decrease skill gaps and have orientation in the future. As a consequence, this benefits them for having great job opportunities, which could bring future prosperity for them. On the societal level, computer skills would make a contribution to fostering economic growth and expanding relationships. A good example of this case is that owing to the Internet, people have chances to make a friend from all over the world which could boost cooperation in the economy.

In conclusion, for the merits I mentioned above, I strongly believe that computer skills should be included in curriculum in schools along with reading, writing, and mathematics.