Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Finding ways to support policemen in the war against crime has long been a topic of concern in today’s society. While I agree that carrying guns along with police could result in a potentially higher rate of violence, I believe that guns are necessary for police when they are on duty.

On the one hand, it may be true that the image of armed policemen could create a misperception in the mind of young adults and children. They may simply think that possessing a weapon is acceptable since it can be used to protect them in threatened situation. However, without being educated about the deadly consequences of using guns, adolescents could be unaware of the possible injuries and pain caused to others. Moreover, there is a risk of accidents and mistakes with guns . Policemen could lose control and shoot unarmed criminal or innocent person, which creates a fear among citizens. These things can lead to higher level of violence in the society.

On the other hand, since the job of protecting citizens by police officers is highly dangerous, guns play an important role in the war against crime. Their life is threatened by criminals who carry knifes or even guns, so they need to be equipped with proper weapons to ensure that they can fight back when they are attacked by criminals. Sometimes, they may even have to shoot the serial killer down with a gun when it is necessary. Secondly, by using guns, police officers can force an offender to surrender. It becomes easier to arrest someone and avoid physical violence. Without guns, suspects could escape and pose a serious threat to the public.

In conclusion, although police force carry guns along with them can has some drawbacks, I belive that it brings more desirable results.