Some people think a job not only provides income but also a social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

For adults, working is one of the most important aspects of life. Many people believe that it provides people with not only salary but also social connections that people get from a job while others argue that social life should be completely divorced from the workplace.

It is understandable why a job can provide us not just salary but also social network. Workers are spending an increasing amount of time at workplaces other than at home or for other purposes. Since they interact with coworkers on a daily basis, fostering colleague relationships is a good way to hone communication skills and avoid having a sense of isolation. Supportive and trusting relationships help employees stay engaged and feel at ease, which contribute greatly to a sustainable social life. Moreover, establishing interpersonal relationships at workplace means having more friend materials. Colleagues who work in the same field often share the same interests and targets in the career path, so people can easily get mutual understandings and help each other in tough times such as providing useful advice and financial support.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why social life should be developed outside the workplace. First, when a working environment become too friendly, there could be a decline in productivity, as workers may fail to efficiently complete their assigned tasks. For example, they might focus more on exchanging pleasantries rather than finishing the heavy workload, which would severely affect the performance of organizations. Another reason is that friendship at workplace can damage one’s career. Leaked information about one’s private life may prevent him or her from promotion opportunities.

In conclusuon, I believe that both building friendship inside or outside workplace has its own merits.