There are many types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is a traditional music of a country more important than international music?

Nowadays, it is true that a various types of music can be found in the world. It is undeniable that music is a vital part of human life due to some reasons. Folk music of a country should be regarded with more importance than international music.

Listening to music could be beneficial to people’s spiritual health, one of which is helping people alleviate stress and anxiety. The reason is that music might lift up positive feelings when people are feeling down. Moreover, music does wonders for people’s mental health. A study indicated that students who listening to calm music for 45 minutes before going to sleep showed significant better sleep than those who did not. Additionally, music is a mechanism for humans to connect with one another. The act of singing in a group creates a connection between participants, regardless of their age.

Traditional music should be valued over the international music since it represents traditions and customs of a nation. Every country has their own culture that differentiates them from others and attracts foreign tourists. For example, in Vietnam, “Quan ho” is a kind of traditional music which symbolizes the spiritual and cultural activities of local people. It plays an important role in conventional festivals and ceremonies such as weddings or novitiation ceremonies. Although international music such as the R&B and rock …are more popular with youngsters than traditional music,it is only for entertainment. It can be catchy, innovative and exciting but it is essentially a commercial product that is marketed and sold by business people.

In conclusion, music plays a central role in people’s spirits and I believe that traditional music should be given more importance than international music.