International travel can make people prejudiced rather than broad minded. Why people fail to benefit when they travel? What we can do to improve their understanding of the countries they visit?

Many people desire to expand their minds and enrich their experiences of the world during a visit to their dream tourist destination. However, instead of feeling the pleasure of travel, what some sightseers feel are only cultural prejudice, conflicts and misunderstandings. There are several reasons for this tendency and steps which could be taken to deepen visitors’ knowledge of the country they want to set foot on.

The first and foremost reason why people hold unfavourable views of the hosts is due to diverse customs and deeply rooted cultural concepts. An obvious example is that eating cow meat is permissible and understandable in Vietnam. However, Indian people might be quite amazed and outraged when hearing or seeing cow meat edible, for it is illicit to butcher cows in their country. Another reason causing the problem is stereotyping, which results mostly from bad experiences with street vendors and petty thieves. It is prevalent in Vietnam for foreign travellers to be blatantly ripped off when they buy things from locals; or their mobile phones might be snatched while sitting in a cramped bus.

Several methods should be adopted to help tourists minimize the potential cultural bias or untrue concepts. Primarily, before paying a visit to one tourist destination, it is a need to accumulate a basic understanding of customs and local people’s lifestyle to avoid culture shocks. Moreover, efforts should be made by those tourist guides or mass media to disseminate local cultures and popularize some relevant taboos. In this sense, foreign visitors will acquire the first-hand knowledge and thus have a deeper insight into the host community. Additionally, the authority should restrict street vendors or strengthen the security in those areas so that local inhabitants have to sell commodities at fixed prices.

In conclusion, there are two primary factors that make tourist have a negative attitude towards the place they visit. However, proper measures can be prompted to tackle the problem.