International travel can make people prejudiced rather than broad minded. Why people fail to benefit when they travel? What we can do to improve their understanding of the countries they visit?

It is true that rather than having numbers of exotic cuisine and cultures, some tourists fail to benefit when they travel. The reasons for this problem are varied and there are some measures that should be taken into consideration to heighten visitors’ understanding of the host countries.

There are two main explanations for this issue. Fristly, the travel expenses in some famous tourist destinations, Ha Long Bay in Vietnam for example, might be grossly inflated. As a matter of fact, some travelers may be overcharged for anything from a taxi, a meal from a restaurant to buying a souvenir, which makes visitors hold negative attitude towards the host nation. Secondly, the problem of wate disposal, pollution and the unregulated construction of hotels in many tourist attractions also discourage tourists from exploring the richness of far-flung destinations. For example, many beach resorts in Thailand have become cocrete jungles of high-rise hotels and apartments, preventing travelers from enjoying the beautiful landscape.

There are several effective approaches to improve the visitors’ understanding of the host nation. Travelers should access a huge storage of information through online platform to broaden their knowledge about the countries they visit. By having a thorought insight into tourist destinations, visitors will be better prepared to avoid situations which they may be overcharged, enabling them to enjoy the richness of the host nation ‘s customs and practices. Additonally, governments should enforce strict regulations on the tourism industry, ensuring that the amount of rubbish released into the environment and the construction of hotels are regulated. By doing this, visitors will be motivated to explore the rich historical heritage of tourist destinations, heightening their understanding of the countries

In conclusion, although there are several reasons why some tourists become prejudiced rather than broad- minded when they visit other nations, some effective measures should be taken into account to tackle this problem