Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Some others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people think that it is impossible for a nation to both achieve sustainable economic progress and have a clean environment. While this is justifiable to some degree, I still believe that the non- stop progress of the economy is the principal cause for the environmental degradation

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people think that a country can be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Firstly, the sustainable development of the economy enables leaders of many countries to invest more state money in advanced technologis which are environmentally friendly and provide renewable energy. With the advent of alternative sources of energy, the combustion of fossil fuels such as coal and oil to meet the escalating energy demand nationwide would be reduced, greatly alleviating environmental problems. Secondly, achieving economic goals is the foundation of adequate employment opportunities. With better means of obtaining money, people would have various chances to broaden thier knowledge about the importance of environmental protection. As a result, the amount of household waste ilegally released into the environment would be minimized, which enables a nation to gain a healthy and sustainable development.

On the other hand, I still believe that it is impossible for a country to both gain economic goals and keep the environment clean. As a matter of fact, in order to become economically successful, the exploitation of natural resources in many countries such as China or Vietnam has been rising significantly to supply a major part of electricity and energy for most manufacturers nationwide. This leads to the depletion of natural resources, which has tremendous negative effects on the environment. Additonally, the non-stop progress of the economy also allows citizens to enjoy a more decent standard of living, which might cause severe damage to the evironment. For example, with greater disposable income, the number of private car owners in some nations has been constantly growing at an unprecedented rate. This results in a rise in the society ‘s carbon footprint, which greatly contributes to the air pollution.

In conlusion, while many people think that a country can both achieve econimoic goals and successfully preserve the environment, i sitll belive that the growth of the economy poses a grave threat to the environment of a country.