In many countries. governments spent a large amount of money on improving internet access.

Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

It is true that in many countries, the governemts have poured their money into extending internet access. There are several reasons for such spending and in my opinion, a large amount of national budget should be allocated to other more urgent priorities.

There are two main reasons why some goverments are allocating a great deal of money to the improvement of internet access. First, the non-stop progress of the Internet gives people countless opportunities to access huge storage of information and acquire a great deal of knowledge about all aspects of life, most of which are free of charge or require a small fee. This heightens citizens’ intellect and and forms a civilzed society, leading to a more sustainable development of a country. Second, the Internet also supplies goverments wih an efficient medium for running national campaigns to raise public awareness of social issues. For instance, leaders of many countries have provided their citizens with online help and advice on some problems such as disease prevention and environmental protection .

However, I still belive that there are other priorities that goverments should take into consideration. From an educational perspective, in many remote areas in developing countries where hunger and poverty is still a common sight, a majority of youngsters do not have access to education. Therefore, more state money should be invested in constructing schools with teachers carefully trained and facilities greatly modernized to provide children who always struggle to make a living with a more effective studying environment. This will result in a more well-educated and productive workforce in rural areas, postively affecting economic expansion. From the perpestive of national security, as there has been an increase in terror attacks which pose a threat on human life, government expenditure on police and security services play a vital role in ensuring the safe of all citizens. For example, the terrorist incidents in France have led to the loss of many innocent lives.

In conclusion, while the Internet brings a lot of benefits to society, governtments should prioritise investing in education and national security in order to enable their citizens to enjoy a more decent standard of living.