Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages.

Private health care institutions and governmental hospitals are at present two major sources of medical service for the public. However, some people suggest that medical service should not be operated by profit-oriented private companies. Personally, I do not agree with them because the advantages of private health care far outweigh the disadvantages.

Undoubtedly, private health care services bring various benefits to people. For example, when a patient has any medical emergency, he or she will get instant treatment. In other words, patients do not have to wait for long hours as in a government hospital. Moreover, private health care institutions, generally, specialize in particular health care services like nursing, midwifery or dental service. These places provide friendly and personalized service and high quality professional medical treatment.

Furthermore, the competition created by the rise in private medical centers is the driving force for improvements. To be more specific, the government owned ones are forced to take measures to better their management, which eventually benefits the public in the long run. What’s more, the private health care institutions are playing a big role in remote areas and rural areas where services are also provided through mobile hospitals to help the disadvantaged.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages too. The cost of treatment in these centers is rather high and is not within the pocket of many people. The reason is that they have the lastest machines and employ the best doctors to run more effectively.

Having considered both sides of this issue, I am of stronger belief that privates provide the best services and thereby deserve to make profits. However, there should be some provision for keeping a check on unfair practices used in such hospitals.