Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The increase in crime rate has resulted in plenty of problems for the society and the only way to stop this is to equip the police department with guns. While some people argue that this action might cause more violent in the society, I totally disagree with this argument.

First of all, since criminals are now becoming more and more dangerous, it is essential for police officers to have guns in order to enforce the law. Criminals are willing to fight back because they know that they have nothing to lose. If there were no firearms, the police would not be able to defend for themselves. For example, Drug dealers often carry heavy weapons in themselves in order to escape so police can only capture them by shooting.

Moreover, there are some difficult situations such as when a suspect capture hostages or in suicide bombers cases, the police must take them down in order for people to be safe. Guns are the statement of the law enforcements that they will never compromise with criminals and it became the leverage when they negotiate with lawbreakers. For example, when bank robbers were surrounded with fully equipped policemens they will be forced to surrender since it is impossible for them to escape without any casualties.

In conclusion, I believe that guns are only the tools for police to protect people when it is necessary and it will not affect the level of chaos in the society. Equipping police officers with firearms is the way to proctect themselves as well as ourselves.