Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today modern era, people tend to communicate with each other through the Internet with the help of modern technologies. These led to the changes in the relationships of many people. I this essay, I will be discussing both sides of this development.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the improvements in technology changed the way people communicate in several positive ways. Firstly, the appearance of social media allows people to have a new relationship with a stranger who shares common interests and hobbies only with their smartphone which is quite convenient. Secondly, people are now having the ability to talk and transfer their ideas using email or through chatting services without having to worry about the geographical boundaries. For example, business partners could be able to create a meeting using Skype even though they are in different countries.

On the other hand, these developments had led to several problems. The lacks of face to face conversations is one of the main problems which was caused by social media. People tend to communicate through social media rather than talking in real life. In some cases, people might not know what to say when they meet their friends in real life, however, they still have plenty of ideas to discuss when they chat on Facebook. For instance, there are some teenagers in my country only use their smartphone to chat with their friends, even though they are sitting right in front of each other. Moreover, there are some high tech criminals have the ability to hack into people social media account and then use it to chat with their friends in order to exploit their credit cards and personal information which is extremely dangerous.

In conclusion, while the development of technology could be beneficial for many people, it stills have several drawbacks.