(08/11/2014) Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People often hold different views about predicators resulting in crime. In my opinion, both nature and extrinsic elements as social issues and poverty are attributed to crime.

There are several reasons as to why people argue that crime is a product of nature. It is mostly the case when people used to be more aggressive and impulsive than their peers, and these seemingly innate characteristics would exacerbate when they become a fully-grown up. Acting violently at an early age can somehow foretell their tendency of criminality in the later years. Furthermore, individuals who possess bad characteristics such as laziness or greedy are likely to offend because it is the easiest way of getting money without efforts. When those find that they are unable to afford necessities, or luxuries that they can see others enjoying, they are more likely to be tempted to steal.

It is understandable why numerous individuals violate laws out of poverty. People who live below the poverty line are short on money and lack the basic necessities of life. Therefore, resorting to crime such as robbery is the last option that allows them to support themselves and their families. In addition, social issue such as drug abuse is blamed on criminal acts. Since excessive use of drugs could lead to behavioral problems. Moreover, if a person addicted to drugs, he is unable to support his addiction, followed by the fact that he might end up in a life of crime to fuel his habits.

In conclusion, it seems to me that unlawful actions are originated from not only human nature but also social factors.