Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There has been a lively debate about whether a person turns to crime on account of their innate characteristics or social issues and poverty. Personally, I would think that crime stems from the latter.

There is undeniable that a person’s bad nature results in criminal behaviours. Firstly, it is typical of those who are work-shy but want to make money without effort to carry out crime because it is their easily distorted sense of values that will make it impossible for them to resist the temptation to earn easy money even if they have to get involved in illegal acts, for example heroin possession and dealing. Furthermore, bad-natured people can satisfy their personal requirements at all costs. This means that they have no hesitation in committing an offence no matter how detrimental it is to their community. Some rape offenders are, for instance, willing to murder their victims to cater for their sexual needs.

Nonetheless, it seems to me that the main cause of wrongdoing lies in both poverty and problems existing in society. If people have worked very hard but are still unable to make ends meet, they are more likely to be tempted into a life of crime with a view to not only improving their own living conditions but also supporting their family. As regards crime in consequence of social problems, a good example of these is an educational system that does attach too much significance to academic standards rather than moral ones. As a result, our future generations are not fully aware of right from wrong and thus might perform criminal actions.

To sum up, crime must largely be put down to poverty and social matters instead of individual nature.