All the people in a company should be treated equally and provided with the same number of holidays in a year or people doing different jobs enjoy different amount of holiday time To what extent do you agree or disagree

Cutthroat business culture is so prevalent that people are discussing how to improve workplace environment. One of their suggestions is that companies should embrace equality in the workplace and grant all eligible employees the same number of vacation leave annually. From my perspective, this idea is far from viable despite some potential benefits.

Admittedly, there are several advantages accruing from implementing the equal days of annual leave. First and foremost, a reasonable vacation policy can greatly enhance a company’s reputation. With its emphasis on equality in the workplace, a company is more likely to retain top employees and attract talented people to join the work team. In addition, a well-established welfare policy gives workers chances to feel fully recharged and fosters a positive workplace culture where all people are equally valued. Working in an employee-friendly environment, people show more commitment to their company, and their active attitude also increases productivity and efficiency in work. Nevertheless, these benefits do not necessarily imply that all people could enjoy the equal days of vacations.

In fact, granting all workers the equal days of vacations causes scheduling problems. If more than 10 employees request a vacation leave within the same period/within the same time slot, this will bring about three problems. First, employers might find it difficult to seek substitutes who are competent for the jobs. Second, the unfinished work will increase colleagues’ workload. Third, it is hard to run normal business when there are not enough workers at a company.

Unfairness among all staff is another repercussion of this employee-friendly policy. Compared with common employees, senior managers take more responsibility and handle more time-consuming jobs such as budgets, planning and personnel affairs. They devote all their energy and time to their work. However, common employees whose jobs are to deal with easier daily routines usually work regularly and go home on time. Therefore, it is unfair to senior managers if they share the same days of holidays with their subordinates.

In conclusion, the idea of offering employees equal days of vacations is completely unacceptable. This practice leads to the difficulty of scheduling, unfairness, and a negative workplace environment. Hence, all companies should not follow this trend.