Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, this often has some negative social consequences. What is your opinion?

Some people think that a country’s economic success is related to the amount of work done by its citizens each day, and therefore countries with longer working hours tend to have higher levels of productivity. However, although this may seem like a positive phenomenon, there are actually some serious drawbacks. This essay will argue that longer hours can be counter-productive.

To begin with, the claim that longer working hours equates to economic success is hard to substantiate. For one thing, the most economically developed countries in the world don’t necessarily have longer working days than the less-developed nations. In fact, in recent decades Europe and North America have seen the average work day decrease in length along with a rise in output, while many poorer countries see their populations toil with little to show for their efforts. Thus, one could conclude that it is quality of work and not quantity that is important.

The reason why some countries have longer working days and yet lower levels of economic productivity is most likely related to the negative social impact of these long hours. To maintain a strong economy, a country needs a healthy and happy population who are engaged in activities that generate commerce. However, if people are working all day, they have less time to eat out at restaurants or go shopping. While it may seem trivial, these are important for the economy. Moreover, when people work too much, their health may suffer, along with their relationships. These too can cause a drain on the economy.

In conclusion, it is not always true that longer working hours correlate with economic success, and the reasons for this are varied. In fact, as demonstrated above, having a population work too much may actually do the opposite of what is intended.