Although some countries with long working hours are economically successful, this often had some negative consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some countries, the standard working hours are relatively longer than in other countries. While some people believe that long working hours helps the country to become economically strong, others opine that it has some negative effects on workers. I agree with the latter view and the reasons for my inclination are articulated in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, there are several reasons why working for longer hours is not a good approach.

At the top of that is health issues. To be precise, it has a serious impact on employee health when they working constantly. It will not only increase their work stress but also make their life tiresome as they do not get time to relax or to do physical exercise. For instance, in the Uk, various studies concluded that the individuals who involve in work throughout the day without adequate rest they body conditions at a higher level of risk of diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure and psychological illness.

On the other hand, another reason is that workers do not get enough time to spend with their family. To epitome, it has been noticed that those who spend most of the time for work have a weaker family relationship with their family because they do not spend their quality time with their children and family. Furthermore, most of the companies are seeking workers who able to work for more hours but the individuals prefer to work for fewer hours. Hence, it will increase the unemployment rate as people do not prefer to work in the restless workspace.

To conclude, although longer working hours are advantageous for developing countries, it will arduous for an employee as it will affect their relationship with their family and face some health crisis.