animal extinction

It has become a controversial issue that an increasing number of animals are in danger of extinction. This essay will look at some primary causes of this issue and offer some possible solutions to tackle the problem.

There are a number of reasons for animal extinction. The first reason is the destruction of habitats. In the industrialized world, many forests are cut down to replace with skyscrapers, factories and companies, which is the main reason for the loss of many species. This is because when a habitat is destroyed, all living species occupying the habitat will reduce breeding capacity; thus populations will decline, and extinction becomes more likely. Another reason is illegal trafficking and wildlife trade, especially of threatened species. For instance, poaching of elephants for ivory and tigers for skins and bones will further enhance the risks of those species becoming extinct.

There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem. Firstly, it is of utmost importance that we protect animals' habitats, especially those of endangered species. Governments and environmental organizations can identify and prioritize wild lands in need of protection, as well as provide support for native habitat restoration that assists in the recovery of once degraded ecosystems. Secondly, it is necessary that governments and individuals join hands to stop the illegal trade of endangered species. Governments can enforce stricter laws against wildlife trade, and implement extensive media coverage to raise environmental awareness. At an individual level, customers can refrain from buying products made from threatened species. This reduces demand for illegal wildlife products, and will ultimately reduce illegal wildlife trade in the long run.

In conclusion, natural habitat losses and illegal wildlife hunting and trafficking are the two main causes of animal extinction. To address this problem, governments must protect and restore the natural ecosystems, and everyone should join hands to stop the illegal trade of endangered species.