Are online tests the best way to evaluate students during pandemic?

People have varied perceptions that whether online tests are the best method to evaluate students’ knowledge in online classes during the COVID-19 pandemic. Any way of knowledge evaluation possesses its positive features; nonetheless, the drawbacks of online tests far outweigh its benefits. First of all, it is an indisputable fact that online tests have technology barriers. There is an unfairness between students. Not all of the students may have a modernized supporting device to complete their tests in an effortless way. They will perform in tests considerably worse than other students from high-income families. In addition, many unanticipated problems arise during the test as a result of transmission failures or unstable transmission lines, resulting in shortcomings in the process of measuring students' abilities. Equally important, though, the online tests make it easier for students, some of them succeed in adopting malpractices in many different ways. Cheating apps are extensively shared by students on social networking platforms, resulting in student reliance when taking the online test. In the opposing view, the online test has brought some benefits. Both students do not need to go outside, they could take the test from home, which makes them feel more at ease and less stressed at school. By the way of conclusion, the best optimization to measure a student's abilities is to administer a paper test with a proctor on-site; the online test is only a temporary form to accommodate the translation situation.