Art and music classes should not be mandatory at school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that it is not compulsory to attend art and music classes at school as long as they are unlikely to directly impact academic performance. However, I firmly believe that students should participate in mandatory arts subjects, especially in primary and secondary schools. This is because taking part in art and music lessons encourages students' creativity and alleviates tension.

To begin with, participating in required art and music classes would foster creativity in students, particularly the younger ones. In fact, arts subjects necessitate a certain level of creativity, so the students who perform them have to create a new work themselves to finish the lessons. Moreover, making arts activities a weekly habit helps pupils express themselves and develop their own views. In Vietnam's primary school, for example, art and music subjects are among the first ones that children encounter, they are already introduced in grade 1, which is the student's smallest starting level. In those classes, pupils can unleash their creativity to sketch their dream house, master the game of chess, or sing heartfelt melodies to the beat of their own rhythms.

On top of that, attending art and music classes creates more opportunities for students to relieve stress after heavy lessons on in-depth knowledge. Many schools organize arts classes as a relaxing activity where everyone can immerse themselves in fine art and put aside the pressures of studying. For instance, art and music classes are interspersed with specialized lectures in secondary and high schools in Vietnam for seniors who have a high intensity of learning for the entry test into the next level of school. Joining those classes allows students to unwind because there is no exact calculating score or comparing standard to determine who is a better musician than another or whose artwork is the most beautiful.

To sum up, participating in mandatory art and music classes encourages students' creativity while making school learning hours more relaxed. For these reasons, compulsory art and music subjects play an important role in school education.